Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Go to Ground vs Go to Ground

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    340
    Rep Power
    293

    Default Go to Ground vs Go to Ground

    And by "vs" I mean "independent of", and by "neither one tests" I mean "laaaame".

    First maneuver of the Usurpation phase! We both chose Go to Ground. Neither of us tested. No downtime occurred. Why does it work like that? Is it to put pressure on the group to avoid situations where both sides would like to go to ground? 'cause I almost feel I would have enjoyed it more in the short term if e.g. I had forfeited my infection action so that something mechanical occurred.

    Which brings up a question: I ruled that we both "succeeded" at the maneuver, though no one got to use successes to generate mechanical downtime. In retrospect I think it should have been that we both failed - both sides tried to hunker down and avoid the whirling of history around them, and both were caught up in the action instead, where the action == next maneuver. What do you do when you hit GtG v GtG?
    By reading this you agree on behalf of your employer to release me from all obligations and waivers arising from any NON-NEGOTIATED agreements, licenses, terms-of-service, shrinkwrap, clickwrap, browsewrap, confidentiality, non-disclosure, non-compete and acceptable use policies that I have entered into with your employer, its partners, licensors, agents and assigns, in perpetuity, without prejudice to my ongoing rights and privileges. You further represent that you have the authority to do so.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    N Y C
    Posts
    14,927
    Rep Power
    4326

    Default

    Can you cite a page reference for me? GtG vs GtG is independent. I see that. Where does it say that there's no roll?
    "Athos—Porthos, farewell till we meet again! Aramis, adieu forever!"
    --D'Artagnan

    Check out my latest project:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    N Y C
    Posts
    14,927
    Rep Power
    4326

    Default

    Can you cite a page number for me? GtG/GtG is independent. Where does it say there is no roll?
    "Athos—Porthos, farewell till we meet again! Aramis, adieu forever!"
    --D'Artagnan

    Check out my latest project:

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    340
    Rep Power
    293

    Default

    Hey, look at that. No, I cannot cite a page number, since it doesn't say that anywhere in the book.

    I can point you to a pdf on the wiki that has an error, though... the "Infection Maneuvers Sheet" http://www.burningempires.com/wiki/i...:grin:ownloads says for Go to Ground "Do not test against Independent actions."
    By reading this you agree on behalf of your employer to release me from all obligations and waivers arising from any NON-NEGOTIATED agreements, licenses, terms-of-service, shrinkwrap, clickwrap, browsewrap, confidentiality, non-disclosure, non-compete and acceptable use policies that I have entered into with your employer, its partners, licensors, agents and assigns, in perpetuity, without prejudice to my ongoing rights and privileges. You further represent that you have the authority to do so.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    N Y C
    Posts
    14,927
    Rep Power
    4326

    Default

    Screw the sheet! Test independent GtGs. All quiet on the Vaylen front: highest scoring side gets three months of downtime per success; lowest scoring team gets one month per successs. It's like versus, I suppose, but both sides win! Test at Obstacle 1.
    "Athos—Porthos, farewell till we meet again! Aramis, adieu forever!"
    --D'Artagnan

    Check out my latest project:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    154
    Rep Power
    434

    Default

    The citation is actually a part of the italicized example text on page 422, which may be why it's hard to spot. "Against another Go to Ground or a conserve, this maneuver is wasted."

    I like the independent Ob 1 version, though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •